First phase of Archdiocese reorganization does not affect Dorchester parishes

Reporter Staff
Jan. 10, 2013

The latest phase of the Boston Archdiocese’s ongoing reorganization, announced on Thursday, did not include any Dorchester parishes. In a release, Cardinal Sean O’Malley said he formally accepted the plan, which over time will downsize 288 parishes into 135 “collaboratives.”

According to the Archdiocese, the affected parishes in the first phase, which will have 12 “collaboratives” and 28 parishes, include:

-- Saint Luke and Saint Joseph, Belmont
-- Saint Mary, Saint Margaret, Saint John, Beverly
-- Saint Mary, Saint Theresa, Saint Andrew, Billerica
-- Saint Mary, Brookline (a one parish collaborative)
-- Saint Mary of the Angels, Roxbury and Saint Thomas and Our Lady of Lourdes, Jamaica Plain
-- Saint Mary and Sacred Heart, Lynn
-- Our Lady of the Assumption and Saint Maria Goretti, Lynnfield
-- Saint Lucy and Saint Monica, Methuen
-- Sacred Heart, Middleboro and Saints Martha and Mary, Lakeville
-- Sacred Heart and Our Lady Help of Christians, Newton
-- Saint James, Saint John, Immaculate Conception, and Saint Anne, Salem
-- Saint Jerome and Immaculate Conception, Weymouth