Ashmont Hill Chamber Music's Winter Concert 2012

Sun, 12/09/2012 - 3:00pm

Ashmont Hill Chamber Music ( ), led by Artistic Director and pianist Rachel Goodwin, opens their 27th season with a Winter Concert that features Beethoven’s superb classic for piano trio, Op. 70 #1 “the Ghost” and weaves around that work a varied palette that includes a stunning work by little known 20th century composer Erwin Schulhoff’s as well as works by Robert Schumann and Jean Sibelius. As a performer, teacher, and resident of Ashmont Hill, Goodwin is committed to the neighborhood’s cultural growth, giving all Dorchester residents the opportunity to experience classical music in Peabody Hall at Ashmont’s historic All Saints Church, built in 1892 and on the National Register of Historic Places.

The concert, which presents the work of four composers and will feature the three instruments, violin, cello and piano, in different combinations for each work takes place on Sunday, December 9th at 3 PM in Peabody Hall at the Parish of All Saints ( ) at 209 Ashmont Street, Dorchester ), two blocks from the Ashmont T station.

The concert is free to attend, with generous funding from Free for All Concert Funds ( http://www.freeforall ). The fund is a grant-making public charity, ensuring that everyone from the Boston region — children, adults, families — will have regular and permanent access to the rich world of classical, orchestral music, and related cultural events. Additional funding for the concert was provided by the Massachusetts Cultural Council ( ).

Chris Grison


209 Ashmont Street
Dorchester, MA 02124


Javascript is required to view this map.