Walsh to chair treasurer's committee on wage equality

Seeking to make good on a campaign theme, Treasurer Deborah Goldberg on Tuesday plans to detail the creation of a new committee to help her develop a state-run website and other tools for government and private business to achieve wage equality.

Boston Mayor Marty Walsh will serve as the honorary chair of the advisory committee that will bring together leaders from business, government and academia to develop solutions to level the wage gap between men and women.

Goldberg last week announced she would use the Pension Reserve Investment Board's voting power as a corporate shareholder to urge private businesses to hire diverse workforces and eliminate pay inequity.

"Pay equity is not a partisan issue, nor solely a women's issue. It is a family issue, and it affects the economic health and well-being of our entire state," Goldberg said in a statement. "This committee will develop concrete strategies and highlight best practices from both the private and public sectors so that the Commonwealth can address this critical economic issue and lead the nation in implementing wage equality initiatives."

The committee plans a statewide conference for April 2016, and the group will organize regional roundtables and look at ways to help government agencies review their pay structures and incorporate pay equity into hiring decisions and salary offers.

Goldberg also wants to launch a state-run website that will provide corporations and government agencies with a "wage equality tool" to help them achieve parity, a salary calculator and facts about pay equity.

"Closing the wage gap is not just simply about increasing women's salaries, it's complex, and must be tackled for women, and for families. This is government leading by example, working to change the culture around women's pay, and moving the conversation forward," Walsh said in a statement.

Former Lt. Gov. Evelyn Murphy, a national leader on wage equality, will serve as a senior advisor to the committee that will also include U.S. Rep. Katherine Clark, Babson College President Kerry Healey, AFL-CIO of Massachusetts President Steve Tolman, and Simmons School of Management Dean Cathy Minehan, the former CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston.

Other members include Greater Boston Food Bank CEO Catherine D'Amato, Women's Fund of Massachuetts CEO Elizabeth Barajas-Roman, The Partnership CEO Carol Fulp, Bentley College President Gloria Larson, Vertex Pharmaceuticals CEO Dr. Jeffrey Leiden, University of Massachusetts Boston Chancellor Keith Motley, Commonwealth Medical EV Chancellor Joyce Murphy, Tufts Health Plan CEO James Roosevelt, Boston Medical Center CEO Kate Walsh, Roxbury Technology Center CEO Beth Williams and Rev. Liz Walker.



Subscribe to the Dorchester Reporter