Dorchester Little League team wins District 9 championship

Back, left to right: Coach Nathan Robbins, Coach TJ Couture, District 9 Administrator Paul Caron Middle : Brady Robbins, Drew Brock, Adrian Carmona, Bear Janicki. Front: Dylan Noto, Liam Yandle, Owen Higgins, Brady O’Connor, Nick Couture, Brendan Pugsley, Josiah Lopez. Not pictured: Coach Drew Brock, Tommy Barry, Landon Healy. Photo courtesy Dorchester Little League

Dorchester Little League players are District 9 champs after beating South Boston and Charlestown earlier this month. The tournament was played in a round robin format with teams from other two neighborhoods.

The Little League is open to players ages 4 to 12. Founded in 2018, the Little League program is the result of a merger between Cedar Grove Baseball and Savin Hill Little League.

The team beat Charlestown on June 27, 19-2, in 4 innings. Adrian Carmona pitched 3 innings, allowing 2 runs, and Nick Couture notched a scoreless final inning. Brady O’Connor went 4 for 4 at the plate.

In the finals, Dorchester faced South Boston in a best-of-three series. In Game 1, Dorchester prevailed easily, 18-6. Brady O’Connor pitched 4 innings and Tommy Barry, who went 4-for-4 at the plate, came on in relief to pitch a scoreless final 2 innings.

Game 2 was another blowout for Dorchester, which scored 20 runs to South Boston’s 3. Adrian Carmona pitched 5 innings, allowing just the 3 runs. Thunderstorms suspended play for about an hour-and-a-half after the fifth inning. In the top of the sixth, Dorchester added 8 runs to the 12 it had scored before the delay.

Nick Couture came on in relief and struck out the side in the sixth.

Dorchester moved on to the Sectional Tournament in Newton along with Parkway, Needham, and Melrose. While Dorchester played tough in all three sectional games, Melrose was the eventual winner, beating Needham, 12-3, in the final game. The north-of-Boston squad will play in the state finals in Andover this weekend.

Dorchester is currently playing in the regular season of the Suburban League Region 1, which consists of teams from the South Shore area.

3 2.png