Ballot order drawing set for Friday in City Hall

City elections officials plan to determine the order of candidates on the Sept. 14 preliminary ballot on Friday.

The lottery will take place at noon inside City Hall’s Iannella Chambers. The elections department plans to livestream the lottery.

Elections officials will toss names into a gold metal tumbler and pull them out, one by one.

Whatever the order, Acting Mayor Kim Janey is expected to be listed on the ballot as the present councillor for District 7, according to the elections department. She is running for a full four-year mayoral term.

The other mayoral candidates are City Councillors At-Large Annissa Essaibi George and Michelle Wu, District 4 Councillor Andrea Campbell and former city economic development official John Barros.

The name of South End state Rep. Jon Santiago, who dropped out of the race earlier this month, will appear on the ballot, since the June deadline for withdrawing names has already passed. Richard Spagnuolo of the North End and Robert Cappucci of East Boston are also running for mayor.

Janey has served as District 7 councillor since 2018, and became City Council president in January 2020. Under the city charter, she became acting mayor once Marty Walsh resigned to become President Joe Biden’s labor chief.

Thomas Menino, Boston’s mayor for 20 years before Walsh, was listed as the District 5 councillor on the 1993 preliminary ballot and had the top slot, according to a review of Reporter archives. Menino, who represented District 5, was the City Council president when President Bill Clinton nominated Mayor Ray Flynn to serve as ambassador to the Vatican.

Menino then became acting mayor, and went on to win the November election against Dorchester state Rep. Jim Brett.


Subscribe to the Dorchester Reporter