Dot teachers honored as one of Boston’s best educators

Nicole Juanita Da Silva

Nicole Juanita Da Silva, who teaches ESL and ELA at Boston International High School in Dorchester, has been recognized as one of the city’s best educators by the Boston Public Schools, the city of Boston, and the Boston Teachers Union. Ten teachers in all received citations at center court at TD Garden on April 11 during the Boston Celtics’ final regular-season game.

“Being a mother — especially a single mother — influences who I am as an educator,” said Da Silva. “I want my students to have a learning experience that I would give to my own daughter. My students are a part of my extended family. Some of them even call me their second mom or aunt in this country, and I expect nothing but the best for them. ”

All Boston Public Schools teachers, paraprofessionals, librarians, and other support staff were eligible for nomination. Fellow teachers, families, students, community members, and others were invited to nominate educators who they believed deserved recognition for their contributions to the school community.

“The Educator of the Year Award highlights the hard work of Boston Public School teachers,” said Mayor Martin J. Walsh. “BPS has dedicated teachers, support staff, and administrators that make BPS students’ futures brighter each and every day and change our students’ lives for the better. Congratulations to this year’s winners on their well-deserved recognition.”

“Teachers across the country go above and beyond every day to meet the needs of their students. Boston is no exception,” said BTU President Jessica Tang. “The hundreds of annual nominations for the Educator of the Year Award reflect the exceptional commitment of our educators throughout all of our schools. We congratulate this year’s finalists, all of the nominees, and all of those who go unsung day in and day out, as well. Boston’s educators make us all proud.”

The other honorees included Danielle Nicole Alli, Charlestown High School; Katharine Atkins-Pattenson, Gardner Pilot Academy; Alicia Carroll, East Boston Early Education School; Natalia V. Cuadra-Saez, Snowden International High School; Ari Hauben, McKinley South End Academy; John Rice, Clarence R. Edwards Middle School; Sharon Robinson-Byrd, Franklin D. Roosevelt K-8 Lower School.

Honorable mention recipients were Edverette Brewster, Lilla G. Frederick Pilot Middle School; Joel Clark, Phineas Bates Elementary School; Joao Gomes, Madison Park Technical Vocational High School; Kate Gubata, Another Course to College; Anne Moy, Josiah Quincy Elementary School; and Panion Tase, Boston International High School.