Home / The Lit Drop /

Murphy releases committee assignments

City Council President Stephen Murphy released on Thursday committee assignments for city councillors, with Dorchester's Maureen Feeney staying atop the Government Operations panel. East Boston's City Councilor Sal LaMattina will be the council's vice president, a position last held by Murphy as part of a deal two years ago to elect Michael Ross head of the body.

Councillors largely retained their posts from last year's session: City Councillor At-Large John Connolly keeps his top post at the Education Committee, City Councillor At-Large Felix Arroyo will remain as chair of the Labor, Youth Affairs and Human Rights Committee; and City Councillor At-Large Ayanna Pressley will keep chairing the Women and Healthy Communities Committee.

Allston-Brighton's District Councillor Mark Ciommo keeps the budget-writing Ways and Means. Mattapan's District Councillor Charles Yancey stays atop the Post Audit and Oversight Committee.

District Councillor Bill Linehan of South Boston is heading up the Census and Redistricting Committee, as well as Economic Development and Planning.

LaMattina will be heading up the City, Neighborhood Services and Veterans Affairs Committee.

Ross will head the Public Safety Committee, while West Roxbury's District Councillor Matt O'Malley heads up the Environment and Health Committee.

Hyde Park District Councillor Rob Consalvo heads up the Housing Committee.